Welcome to the Nishma Insight Discussion Forum blog.


The NISHMA INSIGHT is our popular dvar Torah, distributed almost every week by e-mail, that touches upon an important concept in the Parsha, theme in a holiday or event in contemporary society.

Often, readers respond, via e-mail, with comments that initiate a further dialogue. Through this Discussion Forum, we now wish to open this dialogue to others. If you have a comment on the INSIGHT, we invite you place to your comments here; then we invite everyone to join the discussion.

(If you are not receiving the NISHMA INSIGHT, we invite you join our mailing/e-mail list through completing our sign-up form available at our website.)

Friday, December 23, 2011

Insight 5772-12: Freud's Illusion and Chanukah

For Chanukah

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, December 16, 2011

Insight 5772-11: Yibum

For Vayeshev

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, December 9, 2011

Insight 5772-10: Bat Leah

For Vayishlach

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Thursday, December 1, 2011

Insight 5772-09: Context

For Vayeitzei

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, November 18, 2011

Insight 5772-08: Bnei Ketura

For Chayei Sarah

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, November 11, 2011

Insight 5772-07: Sister, Not Wife

For Vayera

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, November 4, 2011

Insight 5772-06: The Progeny of Hagar

For Lech Lecha

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, October 28, 2011

Insight 5772-05: Nature and Morality

For Noach

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Insight 5772-04: To Look But Not To Touch

For V'Zot HaBracha

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Insight 5772-03: The Value of Nations

For Succot

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, October 7, 2011

Insight 5772-02: The Missing Link

For Yom Kippur

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Wednesday, September 28, 2011

Insight 5772-01: Hayom Harat Olam

For Rosh Hashanah

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, September 9, 2011

Insight 5771-43: War Brides

For Ki Teitzei

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, September 2, 2011

Insight 5771-42: Structuring Nationhood

For Shoftim

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, August 19, 2011

Insight 5771-41: Understanding a Change in Order

For Ekev

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, August 12, 2011

Insight 5771-40: Lo Techaneim

For V'etchanan
Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, July 29, 2011

Insight 5771-39: Success

For Masei

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, July 22, 2011

Insight 5771-38: Tension

For Mattot

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, July 15, 2011

Insight 5771-37: Bnei Korach

For Pinchus

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, July 1, 2011

Insight 5771-36: The Death of Miriam

For Chukat

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, June 24, 2011

Insight 5771-35: The Nation's Holiness

For Korach

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, June 17, 2011

Insight 5771-34: Character Flaw

For Shelach

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, June 3, 2011

Insight 5771-33: Context and Reasons

For Naso

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, May 27, 2011

Insight 5771-32: Two Faces of Family

For Bamidbar

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, May 13, 2011

Insight 5771-31: The Danger of Simplicity

For Behar

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, May 6, 2011

Insight 5771-30: Private and Public

For Emor

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, April 29, 2011

Insight 5771-29: The Distinction of Kedusha

For Kedoshim

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Sunday, April 24, 2011

Insight 5771=28: The Shift to Revelation

For Shvi'i shel Pesach

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, April 15, 2011

Insight 5771-27: The Essence of Derech Eretz

For Parshat Acharei Mot

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, April 1, 2011

Insight 5771-26: Male and Female

For Parshat Tazria

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, March 25, 2011

Insight 5771-25: The Kohain and the Rav

For Parshat Shemini

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, March 18, 2011

Insight 5771-24: Mishlo'ach Manot

For Purim

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, March 11, 2011

Insight 5771-23: Spirituality and Idolatry

For Parshat Vayikra

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, March 4, 2011

Insight 5771-22: Purim and the Temple

For Parshat Shekalim

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, February 18, 2011

Insight 5771-21: Idolatry and Sexuality

For Ki Tisa

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, February 11, 2011

Insight 5771-20: The Value of Command

For Tetzaveh

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Thursday, February 3, 2011

Insight 5771-19: Give or Take

For Teruma

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, January 28, 2011

Insight 5771-18: Sheker

For Mishpatim

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Thursday, January 20, 2011

Insight 5771-17: Shabbat and the Non-Jew

For Yitro

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Thursday, January 13, 2011

Insight 5771-16: Prayer

For Beshalach

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, January 7, 2011

Insight 5771-15: Choteh Niscar

For Bo

Not yet available on the Nishma website.