Welcome to the Nishma Insight Discussion Forum blog.


The NISHMA INSIGHT is our popular dvar Torah, distributed almost every week by e-mail, that touches upon an important concept in the Parsha, theme in a holiday or event in contemporary society.

Often, readers respond, via e-mail, with comments that initiate a further dialogue. Through this Discussion Forum, we now wish to open this dialogue to others. If you have a comment on the INSIGHT, we invite you place to your comments here; then we invite everyone to join the discussion.

(If you are not receiving the NISHMA INSIGHT, we invite you join our mailing/e-mail list through completing our sign-up form available at our website.)

Friday, December 31, 2010

Insight 5771-14: Context

For Va'era

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Thursday, December 23, 2010

Insight 5771-13: And He Kissed Him

For Shemot

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Thursday, December 16, 2010

Insight 5771-12: Unified Family

For Vayechi

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, December 10, 2010

Insight 5771-11: Yosef and Yehuda

For Vayigash

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, December 3, 2010

Insight 5771-10: Know Thy Enemy

For Chanukah

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, November 26, 2010

Insight 5771-09: The Sentencing of Tamar

For Vayeshev

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, November 19, 2010

Insight 5771-08: The Method of God's Care

For Vayishlach

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, October 29, 2010

Insight 5771-07: Transition

For Chayei Sarah

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, October 22, 2010

Insight 5771-06: What God Reveals

For Vayera

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Thursday, October 7, 2010

Insight 5771-05: Haran

For Noach

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Insight 5771-04: A Unique Halachic Entity

For Shemini Atzeret

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Wednesday, September 22, 2010

Insight 5771-03: Distinction in Time

For Succot

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, September 17, 2010

Insight 5771-02: Communal Teshuva

For Yom Kippur

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Wednesday, September 8, 2010

Insight 5771-01: HaMelech Hamishpat

For Rosh Hashanah

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, August 20, 2010

Insight 5770-36: The Flow of Mitzvot

For Parshat Ki Teitzei

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Spark of the Week 5753-13


For
Parshat Ki Teitzei

Available on the Nishma website

From their inception in 5753 until 5756, Insights were originally entitled Sparks of the Week.

Insight 5762-33: Bracha


For
Parshat Naso and Yom Kippur.

Available on the Nishma website

Insight 5758-19: Simcha and Rosh Hashanah


For
Rosh Hashana.

Available on the Nishma website

Friday, August 13, 2010

Insight 5770-35: Two Systems of Justice

For Parshat Shoftim

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Monday, August 9, 2010

Spark of the Week 5756-22: The False Prophet

For Parshiot Re'eh and Shoftim

Available on the Nishma website

From their inception in 5753 until 5756, Insights were originally entitled Sparks of the Week.

Friday, July 30, 2010

Insight 5770-34: Rachmanim, Bayshanim and Gomlei Chassadim

For Parshat Ekev

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, July 23, 2010

Insight 5770-33: Matrilineal Descent


For
Parshat V'etchanan

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Spark of the Week 5754-40


For
Parshiot Kedoshim, V'etchanan and Re'eh

Available on the Nishma website

From their inception in 5753 until 5756, Insights were originally entitled Sparks of the Week.

Friday, July 2, 2010

Insight 5770-32: The Rachamim of God

For Parshat Pinchus

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, June 25, 2010

Insight 5770-31: Ma Tovu Ohalecha Yaakov

For Parshat Balak

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Saturday, June 19, 2010

Spark of the Week 5754-35

For Parshat Balak
Available on the Nishma website

From their inception in 5753 until 5756, Insights were originally entitled Sparks of the Week.

Friday, June 18, 2010

Insight 5770-30: Thought and Action

For Parshat Chukkat

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, June 11, 2010

Spark of the Week 5753-9


For
Parshiot Chukkot and V'etchanan

Available on the Nishma website

From their inception in 5753 until 5756, Insights were originally entitled Sparks of the Week.

Insight 5770-29: Democracy and Distinction


For
Parshat Korach

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Sunday, June 6, 2010

Spark of the Week 5756-20: The Motivation of Torah


For
Parshiot Bamidbar and Korach

Available on the Nishma website

From their inception in 5753 until 5756, Insights were originally entitled Sparks of the Week.

Friday, June 4, 2010

Spark of the Week 5756 - 19: Objectivity and Assumptions

For Parshat Shelach

Available on the Nishma website

From their inception in 5753 until 5756, Insights were originally entitled Sparks of the Week.

Friday, May 28, 2010

Insight 5770-28: Announcing God

For Parshat Beha'alotcha

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Sunday, May 23, 2010

Spark of the Week 5756-05: Lfi Aniyat Dati


For
The Three Weeks

Available on the Nishma website

From their inception in 5753 until 5756, Insights were originally entitled Sparks of the Week.

Insight 5766-28: Torah She'b'al Peh

For Parshat Beha'alotcha

Available on the Nishma website

Friday, May 14, 2010

Insight 5770-27: Nation Before God ?


For
Parshat Bamidbar and Shavuot.

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Wednesday, May 5, 2010

Insight 5770-26: The Arayot


For
Parshiot Acharei Mot and Kedoshim.

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Sunday, May 2, 2010

Insight 5769-32, 33: The Congregation (Parts 1 & 2)


For
Parshiot V'Zot HaBracha and Bereishit.

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Insight 5768-33: Charmah


For
Parshat Chukat.

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Insight 5768-14: Pain


For
Parshat Va'era.

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Insight 5768-04: Moshe Rabbeinu and Bereishit


For
Shemini Atzeret, Simchat Torah,
Parshiot V'Zot HaBracha
and Bereishit

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Insight 5767-28: The Root of Loshon Hara


For
Parshat Beha'alotecha

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Insight 5767-21: The Chok


For
Parshat Ki Tisa and Pashat Parah

Not yet available on the Nishma website.

Friday, April 30, 2010

Insight 5767-14: Concern For Speech


For
Parshat Va'era.

Not yet available on the Nishma website.